Of Chinese Little Dragons and My New Blog

Shaolin humor

Up side down: In China it’s easy to adopt a slightly different perspective of life and self.

I’m in China, and 10 weeks after I settled in, I only just downloaded a MAC VPN but I know I’m not going to use it often.

I fell in love with sneakily climbing up the Great Firewall, taking a tiny peak then quickly coming down again. I have no desire to go beyond it forever.

Earlier this year, I decided I’m taking time out from work, post-revolution Egypt, and the incessant unstoppable noise and flying to the birthplace of zen and martial arts: Shaolin China.

I’m currently in Shaolin Kung Fu training in a Shaolin Temple Martial Arts school called Xiaolong or Little Dragon. In three months or so, I’m planning on moving to live inside the temple for a while, higher up on Mount Song. Currently, I’m at the foot of the mountain — literally and figuratively. Before that, I may spend a few weeks in a more secluded Shaolin Monastery in the south-east of China, where the weather is milder, and there are actually English speakers who can help me explore zen Buddhism and wushu philosophy a bit deeper. I blog about my experience here: http://pakinamlights.tumblr.com

Do check it out, and leave me questions and comments!

Amituofo.

One thought on “Of Chinese Little Dragons and My New Blog

Share Your Thoughts

